July 14, 2010

The Modern Art Museum and Uppsala University Library

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:13 pm by Costume Girl

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

So, it just so turned that I couldn’t update my blog because I had to write a paper for my Arts in Sweden class.  Also, I didn’t really do much on Monday, so I am really only one post behind.

Yesterday, my Arts in Sweden class went to the Modern Art Museum in Stockholm.  We took the train, which had no air conditioning, which was terrible on a 92-degree day with almost everyone wearing jeans, and walked across the center of Stockholm to the museum.

I have to admit, I enjoyed the museum a great deal more than I thought I would.  There was a lot of interesting art in there, not just shapes and lines and strange things.  My favorite pieces:

"Will You Become Profitable, Little Friend?"

"Will You Become Profitable, Little Friend?"

This is what Cody used to call his old car:

Old Smobile, by Ed Bruskar

Old Smobile, by Ed Bruskar

And this was like a Japanese room made of cloth and wood. My professor looked in through a window when we weren’t expecting it, and it was amusing.

Johan

Johan

After the museum, we walked back to the train, and went back to Uppsala.  I went out with a couple of friends to eat supper, and then came back to my apartment to study for the final exam today.

Today, I had my final exam in Swedish class, and did really well!  After classes, I took the long trek up the hill to the Carolina Rediviva, Uppsala University’s library.

Carolina Redviva

Carolina Redviva

I saw many treasures there, although photos were not allowed, including the famous Gothic “Silver Bible”, with ink made of silver and gold, a copy of Snorri Sturlesson’s Younger Edda, one of Mozart’s music notebooks, Rudbeck’s book of bird watercolors, and some of Carl Linné’s sketchbooks, among others.  It was amazing.

I am now nearly officially done souvenir shopping, and it is highly unlikely that I will get a blog post up tomorrow, as tomorrow evening we have the farewell dinner, complete with all the pomp and ceremony attendant on the most fancy of Swedish dinner parties.  We are supposed to wear the best we have, a dark green cocktail dress in my case, and I fully expect the whole thing to last from six in the evening until midnight, at which time the dance begins.  I kid you not.  I think it’s going to be about five courses.

Friday, of course, I check out of the program and my apartment and do my last bit of sightseeing in Uppsala, and I fly out of Arlanda early on Saturday morning.  Arrival time in Lincoln:  4:30 P.M., should all go well, and I pray it does.

I’ll try to update as I can in the next couple of days, but we’ll see what happens.

Later!

-Kelsey

Leave a comment