July 10, 2010

Gamla Uppsala

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:11 pm by Costume Girl

Saturday, July 10, 2010

There was no real plan today.  Sure, I planned to go to the Gustavianum and take as much time as I wanted to make sketches of the Viking embroidery there, and I wanted to go to Gamla Uppsala, but I had no timeline, no real place to be at any time, or anything like that.  It was wonderful.

I slept in, since the museums don’t open until ten anyway, ate breakfast, and was off!  I made some very good sketches of the scraps of embroidery in the Gustavianum, which was a major success when you consider how terrible I am at drawing.  All told, I think I spent maybe an hour in front of that one case, sketching.  It was wonderful.

Next, I decided to take the bus to Gamla Uppsala, so I went to the Tourist Info office and asked which bus was right.  I was given not the greatest directions to the right bus stop by the guy working there, so I sat at the wrong bus stop for a while with an old lady who kept trying to talk to me in Swedish.  Eventually, I asked her which number bus to take to get to Gamla Uppsala, and she and a friend who just got off the bus at that time walked me to what they said was the right bus—the one lady talking to me in broken English the whole time, and I responding in similar Swedish.  So I waited for the bus, got on, and ended up on the exact opposite side of town.  Right bus, but going the wrong way.  Whoops!  So I just rode it all the way back, which was okay.  I got to see more of Uppsala than I would normally see on my daily walks to and from class.

When I finally got to Gamla Uppsala, I went to the museum there.  It wasn’t as impressive as I had hoped it would be, but it was pretty cool.  It had a lot of nice Viking items, and some really neat displays:

Axe, Sword, and Weather Vane

Axe, Sword, and Weather Vane

Jewelry and Such

Jewelry and Such

Beads!

Beads!

Fittings for Belts, Swords, etc.

Fittings for Belts, Swords, etc.

After I went through the museum, I ate lunch at the Odinsborg restaurant.  It was fun and relaxing to sit and eat outside.  I had a sandwich with potatoes on it.  It was surprisingly good.

After I finished my lunch, about 2:30, I decided to take a long walk around the Uppsala Grave Mounds.  I headed off, and just kinda meandered around the mounds for the better part of the afternoon.

The Grave Mounds and a Clear Swedish Sky

The Grave Mounds and a Clear Swedish Sky

In The Distance-- Fields of Gold

In The Distance-- Fields of Gold

I found a nice bench under a tree, and laid down and watched the sunlight play in the leaves for a while, and just listened to the wind in the leaves.  It was like a breath of heaven to lay there and relax, just me and my thoughts.

An OLD Maple Tree

An OLD Maple Tree

After I while, I got up and wandered down the trail and around the far end of the mounds.  I found a beautiful patch of wildflowers.

Purple Flowers

Purple Flowers

After a long wander, I decided to take the bus and head back.  It was a wonderful, relaxing day, and if I didn’t have to get up so early tomorrow, I might have stayed there to watch the sun set.

Tomorrow, I go to Birka, to see the museum there and hopefully finish up my souvenir shopping!

Later,

-Kelsey

1 Comment »

  1. CPetroski said,

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who likes to watch the sun in the leaves of trees! 🙂 It’s one of my favorite things to look at!


Leave a Reply

